Growing Pains

I already lost when I found out
That life was small and full of doubt,
And now I yearn for days of yore
When there was wisdom to be ignored

A birth certificate upon a shelf
Collecting dust, all by itself
The years they passed and nothing came
No flashing lights or greater fame

You lectured me, “Don’t grow up quick”
But I was young, a selfish prick
Who took advantage of compromise
Then waited for you to apologize

Karma came, and then it mimed
Now I’m blessed these brats of mine
And when they cop an attitude
I see I owed you gratitude

For time reveals a lifelong struggle
To do what’s right while staying humble
And as I age, respect is earned
And though I’ve grown, I’ve much to learn

Leave a Reply

